Visions and Dreams CD

4.20 out of 5 based on 5 customer ratings
(5 customer reviews )


Track List


  • Miles From Home
  • Alright
  • Spending Time With You
  • Friends
  • Visions And Dreams
  • Tell Me
  • Song For Jessie
  • Blue Fingers


This was my first solo album recorded from 1996 – 2000. It was recorded with a Fostex 4 track and an 8 track VS880 EX. I played all the instruments and did all the drum programming except for Miles from Home, Song for Jessie, and Blue Fingers. Long time drummer friend Mike Lukers took care of that for me.

All DVD, Blu-ray, and CD orders include the download version. Once your order is placed you will be directed to a link for the download. If you are ordering a CD, DVD, or Blu-ray your package will arrive in 3 to 5 business days if you live in the US. Outside the USA takes 7 to 10 business days or longer depending on location. Keep in mind I only offer customer service and support to customers who buy my products from me or authorized vendors.

Additional information

Weight 6 oz

Customers' review

Rated 4.20 out of 5 stars
5 reviews
5 stars 4 80 %
4 stars 0 0 %
3 stars 0 0 %
2 stars 0 0 %
1 star 1 20 %

5 reviews for Visions and Dreams CD

  1. 5 out of 5

    The spirit of Allan Holdsworth lives on in the six-string savvy of fusion ax man Derryl Gabel. Gabel actually recorded this album in the late 1990s/early 2000s, when Holdsworth was still very much alive. Only in his late 20s/early 30s at the time, Gabel was already playing on the level of Holdsworth – not even Holdsworth played like that in his 20s. This album is hands-down absolutely and positively one of the best guitar albums of all time. It’s vibrant, uplifting, inspiring, and awesome, buoyed by Gabel’s agile dexterity and clean monster tone. Not only does Gabel’s mastery of the fretboard echo that of his esteemed predecessor, but he also incorporates elements of the compositional and playing styles of Holdsworth and Eric Johnson, among others (including Andy Summers and the late great Hiram Bullock). In fact, if I hadn’t known otherwise, I would have thought that the last song on the album, “Blue Fingers,” was an Eric Johnson recording. Gabel literally picked up where Holdsworth left off, releasing his debut record a year after Holdsworth’s last studio album. Visions and Dreams is as good as Holdsworth’s best work. That’s no easy feat, but Gabel’s fluidity and phrasing make it seem effortless. This might as well have been an Allan Holdsworth album, if Holdsworth had returned to original studio recording and with electric guitar no less. The fact that Gabel can at will sound exactly like Holdsworth and Johnson, as well as other established guitarists, makes him no less original. He has a style and sound all his own, even as he pays tribute to the guitar greats that came before him. Hopefully Gabel can find some time to record and release new albums, because for all those who have felt a void since the passing of Allan Holdsworth, Derryl Gabel fills that chasm like no other – and then some.

  2. 5 out of 5

    First learned of Derryl Gabel in a beautiful Latin infused rock fusion song (Tierra Del Fuego) on George Lynch's (Sacred groove album). Truly a magnificent piece of music, a killer guitarist collaboration & an ear opener to Mr. Gabels abilities... I knew there had to be more ! The album Visions & Dreams is a keeper ! My Top 3 (although I enjoy them all) would be : Spending Time With You Blue Fingers Tell Me

  3. 1 out of 5

    Incredible playing! Derryl is a true master of the guitar with exceptional abilities.

  4. 5 out of 5

    A feast of Fusion like skullduggery!!! Warning... This CD may cause an extreme want to become even better at guitar.

  5. 5 out of 5

    Great album. Any fusion fan should check this out. Some amazing soloing - Holdswoth-like speed & fluidity .

Add a review